Mainly random things.

blue-bird.jpg

Ever since school has been back in session, things have pretty much been a fast paced roller coaster of thinking and analyzing and criticizing and then doing, to then restart that cycle.

I’ve been trying to decide on pushing my project in another direction or hanging it up for now and starting a new (but kind of the same) interest. Either or, I’m excited about it. We’ll see what happens.

me-headphones.jpg

Here are the two portraits that are finished, I took them the weekend before this past one.

jeff-wolf-1.jpg

Jeff

and

rob-bed-1.jpg

Rob

I think I’m moving into a much different direction with the project: involving only strangers in their homes with less guidelines in terms of age and much more of an interactive situation between photographer and subjects. I’ll post some as soon as I have some finished, I’d like to hear what anyone thinks.

woman-lost-in-city.jpg

So I guess I’ll run through what’s been going on lately.

Well a few weeks ago when we got back from Florida, Suzy and her roommates found a large heating bill, so they decided to throw a party and sell booze at it.

balloon.jpg

Unfortunately, we profited maybe $30.00 from the party.

bottle-in-tree.jpg

Aside from that, other random things include:

-Got a physical at the doctor.

nature-at-doctors.jpg

-My car (Blue ’92 Honda Accord) basically having too many things wrong with it to drive.

car-destruction-lightning.jpg

-Someone buying my car for $800.00.

-Another person wanting my car that was already sold.

-That person buying my brother’s car (Green ’91 Honda Accord) that has not started for about 6 months for $700.00.

-The 190,000 mile relationship with a car coming to a beautiful ending.

Now I drive a Ford Focus, which I would compare to driving a golf cart on a 4 lane highway. However, the miniature quality of the Focus does make me feel like a giant.

Anyways, other things that have not been talked about,

brian-smoke-door.jpg

Brian moved out, to New York City.

brian-hand-smoke.jpg

I’d link you to his work, but I don’t think it’s up just yet.

So then Rob moved in,

rob-sideways.jpg

And we have made a full darkroom in our kitchen with 3 enlargers and separate room for chemistry. We’re working on making it more efficient. But it’s difficult with school being immediately intense this semester.

hoodie-against-post.jpg

Here’s a picture of Asher and Rob on our way to Mike‘s on the way to the last critique.

asher-rob-el-2.jpg

what the hell happened to those?

last-critique.jpg

(^ here is Rob, Petya, Hannah, Sydney, and Elise)

chiara-last-critique.jpg

(And ^ Chiara) At our last critique. Most of the others who came regularly are linked on the right.

But really, I’d be interested in starting those up again. David Robert Elliott and I were talking about it at Brad‘s Satin Satan show the other night (which was an awesome pick of work, by the way.)

Rob and I can host some nights. Whoever’s still down to continue it, please let me know and we’ll get something started again.

asher-el-2.jpg

 

In other news, the weather has been ridiculous in Chicago.

california-stop.jpg

I’ve been doing my best to photograph in between going places on the street,

bus-with-man2.jpg

car-on-way-home.jpg

which sometimes the 40 degree temperature changes help out with.

girl-who-walked-away.jpg

But mainly I just photograph while not being able to feel my hands.

hoods-on-el.jpg

I guess I’ve been photographing a lot of the el lately,

scratches-el-window.jpg

rob-hat-hands.jpg

 

I found this el scene to be pretty strange.

interesting-sitch.jpg

 

guy-on-western.jpg

Me and Rob have inevitably been hanging out a lot since he has moved in,

rob-surprised.jpg

and consequently Petya has been hanging out also,

petya.jpg

Quinn took some pretty awesome pictures of us with her fisheye when we stopped in one day.

n48603439_32206531_9382.jpg

Here’s some more random pictures.

hat-scarf-el.jpg

guy-in-window-with-me.jpg

lauren-sarah-dypt.jpg

man-standing-postal-truck.jpg

photocopier.jpg

triptuzy.jpg

shadows-at-the-bus-stop.jpg

As far as school goes, I couldn’t be happier with my classes.

I don’t know if I’ve been able to say that with an entire class schedule at Columbia before.

I mainly say that because of my classmates in these classes, it’s been fantastic company.

rob-and-camera.jpg

rob-and-mike-crazy.jpg

We got out of Advanced View Camera one day and went to Yolk.

mike-and-creamer.jpg

(Mike talking about creamer and making ‘that’s what she said’ jokes, inappropriately.)

rob-smoke.jpg

(Rob on break from something.)

yatzik.jpg

(Yatzik.)

ryan-b-pic-of-me.jpg

(Ryan Bakerink took a picture of me with my camera.)

((Which I think actually ups the resale value of my camera.))

(((Because he photographs famous people for a living.)))

More random photos?

Okay.

Me and this lovely lady wandered one day before she had to work.

suzy-got-pizza.jpg

bathroom-break-with-suzy.jpg

lines-and-shadows-el.jpg

suzy-tai.jpg

elevator-with-suzy.jpg

guy-in-window-bath-break.jpg

nice-light-on-trees.jpg

suzy-look-back-up-pizza.jpg

Got “Got Pizza” at some point,

suzy-at-hilarys.jpg

stayed at Hilary’s at some point,

movies.jpg

went to see “Juno” at some point,

how “just alright” was that movie? Seriously.

I thought it was supposed to be hilarious.

George Michael completely let me down.

taxis-and-bike-at-night.jpg

squiggle-branch-school.jpg

Me and Suzy went to Bloomington, Indiana this past weekend to visit one of her friends at IU. I’ll post the pictures from then and this week probably next week sometime.

suzy-half-smile-gotpizza.jpg

We’re going to Fort Collins, Colorado this weekend to photograph some strangers I talked to through craigslist and to visit my friend Drew.

drew-looking-down.jpg

I guess that’s it for now.

snow-tracks.jpg

Bundle up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Mainly random things.

  1. Suzan

    Okay, I still have to comment on the previous entry and sometimes that just doesn’t happen too quickly because I’m so impressed. Well, I’m damn impressed this time again, but will just comment right away.
    Honestly… fantastic stuff. I don’t actually even really know what to say. Fantastic portraits. Lovely spontaneous stuff. Great tones…
    I especially loved the frame of Rob in bed. That stare, the pose, such intimacy.
    How cool is it that you live in the same house now and can make it a darkroom walhalla?

  2. chiara

    new apartment= bare walls/ we’re in for hosting critiques and small shows… wrightwood will be where it’s at plus chiara likes cooking now.

  3. Wid

    Just had to second Suzan, so many impressive photos in this entry!

    Some of my favorites:


  4. oh! how i like those!

    what film do you shoot with the bessa? are you still developing with xtol?

  5. christian

    wonderful post.

    love the “mood” of this one and the bokeh in the following photo is plain beautiful.

  6. Elise

    i hope you don’t cook in your kitchen. my photos look much better reproduced in b&w too. also, you might like this photographer i stumbled upon. http://www.dinakantor.com//Index.html

Leave a Reply

